Lush New! Shampoo Bar

I’ve wanted to try a Lush shampoo bar for a while now. I first fell in love with the scent of the Karma Komba shampoo bar while I was browsing a Lush store one random afternoon with my mom. For those of you unfamiliar with the smell, Lush’s website describes it as orange, pine, and patchouli. The orange scent definitely isn’t very strong, which is great for me. I am not a fan of citrus scents, yet I love this one. Personally, I thought it smelled exactly like incense (go figure… patchouli), which is why I liked it so much. However, at the time I had a full bottle of shampoo at home and didn’t want to spend the money on it. Fast forward to a few weeks ago when I was late night browsing Lush’s website and adding about a million bath bombs and bubble bars to my wishlist. I came across the shampoo bars again and since I was running low on shampoo decided that it was finally time to satisfy my curiosity and try one out. I was a little skeptical. Seriously, how could a bar of soap work through thick hair and how do you even get it in your hair??

After much debate between my beloved Karma Komba scent, and New! I decided on the latter, which boasts new hair growth stimulation. I was a little worried that I wouldn’t like the scent of New! because I don’t typically like cinnamon scented things, but I was pleasantly surprised when it finally arrived in the mail. It has a pretty mild scent; it isn’t too cinnamon-y, and I really like it.

81i62bhbyill-_sx522_

I’m not going to lie, I actually Googled how to use a shampoo bar before hopping in the shower with it. I found a video made by Lush that shows one of their employees demonstrating how to use the product. It’s so simple I felt dumb for even needing a video, but when it’s a new (to you) product that works differently than what you’re used to (i.e. regular liquid shampoo) then it’s hard to know where to start. Basically, you just hop in the shower and wet your hair and the shampoo bar, and once it’s wet you literally just rub the shampoo bar against your hair a couple of times. As soon as I started rubbing the bar against my hair I could feel it starting to lather up and once you get enough you can just finish lathering it through your hair with your fingers. It gets seriously sudsy super fast. Try saying that 5 times fast. I honestly feel like the shampoo bar creates a better lather than any liquid shampoo I normally use. My hair even feels fresher, maybe because of the supposed hair stimulating properties of New!, though I haven’t noticed any tingly feeling while using it as Lush suggested. Another great thing about the shampoo bar is that it reduces plastic waste since it doesn’t require a bottle! I’ve also read that it’s great for travel since it isn’t a liquid and it doesn’t weigh much.

12476712_1076057635778351_299151083_o
This is what my shampoo bar looked like after a few washes. It still doesn’t look any visibly smaller yet, the only difference is the outer texture seems to have smoothed out and the color has faded a bit.

As far as stimulating hair growth goes, I don’t know if I’m convinced. However, I haven’t been paying attention closely enough to really say. My hair grows really fast already so it would be hard to tell unless there was a significant difference. The picture below is my root growth after about 2 months. I had actually used the shampoo bar about twice before I took this picture, but the growth is still standard to what I’m used to. I’ve been dying my hair for about 8 or 9 years now, and my roots are impossible to keep up with. After I had used the shampoo bar for longer I was going to take another picture and try to measure the difference in root growth then, but of course I caved and dyed my hair already….. (post on that soon). Maybe once I get my color the way I want it I’ll take a picture after 2 months again and see if the root growth is about the same.

12443443_1076661405717974_250948973_o

All in all, I’m so in love with this product that I may never go back to bottle shampoo, though I am considering tying Karma Komba next time. Serious thumbs up for dry shampoo bars and I think everyone should give them a shot, and just imagine how many shampoo bottles that would save from ending up in landfills.

chlxbee

One thought on “Lush New! Shampoo Bar

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

