5 Things Before Noon: Day 3

As the days go by I realize more and more why I have never been a morning person. I don’t know what it is in people that gives them the ability to go to sleep early and pop out of bed in the morning ready for the day, but I do not have that piece. I’ve been trying to go to bed early so that I still get the same amount of sleep, but I just toss and turn all night. Normally, I don’t go to bed until I’m actually tired. I will pretty much continue doing whatever it is I’m doing until I am about to pass out and then I finally go to bed.

As this challenge goes on I feel incrementally more tired every day. The first day I was fine, I had actually been tired the night before so I fell asleep easy and I woke up fine. Then the second day I couldn’t fall asleep the night before and I woke up a pretty sleepy, but today was the worst so far. I tossed and turned and couldn’t fall asleep last night, and I didn’t even try to go to bed until a little after midnight. I think I laid in bed an extra 30-40 minutes this morning and just felt utterly too tired to get up. Here’s to hoping tomorrow will be better, because I honestly thought it would get easier as the days went on to wake up early. I guess it just takes a while to change your schedule, even if it’s only by an hour.

I. Yoga – Check.
I did a 15 minute video this morning so that totally makes up for the lost 5 minutes yesterday, right? Just kidding. I did this video, which was made for women during their shark week. Obviously men can do it too, it just particularly targets your lower back area and relieving cramps. It wasn’t super life changing or anything, but it did offer a little relief.

II. Writing – Check.
Today I actually worked on my favourite poem from my poetry class in college that I never finished. I technically finished it as far as the assignment went, but my professor wanted me to continue it. I had about 4 or 5 couplets with a crummy get-this-over-with ending that he hated, and basically told me to nix the ending and create “about 100 more of those couplets.” Maybe if I ever decide it’s finished I’ll post in on the blog.

III. Portfolio – X.
I skipped this one for the first time, because honestly I didn’t feel like working on the fact sheet again and I didn’t have time to really dive into anything social media or event related.

IV. Crafts – X.
Okay, I skipped this one again. I just don’t think I feel very crafty in the morning. If I had more time I would have done some more knitting on my blanket, but I decided that leaving early to stop at Starbucks for a Salted Caramel Mocha Frappuccino was more important today. Plus, I wanted to get my co-worker something on the way to work because she had to make the tough decision to put down her hedgehog last night due to medical reasons. Of course, coffee isn’t going to do much in the way of healing wounds, but it doesn’t mean you don’t deserve a pick me up regardless.

V. Purge 5 Things
2 old bars of chocolate from my bookshelf, 2 notebooks that I’ve had since middle school, and 2 used up candles. I was actually going to re-purpose at least one of the candle jars, but then I realized it must have been dropped at some point because there’s a crack running the entire length of the jar. I suppose it’s into the recycling for both of them.

Does purging 1 extra item give me some bonus points towards skipping portfolio and crafts today?

 

chlxbee

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

