Garbage House: Bathroom Reveal (before + after)

It is finally time I can show some before and after’s from Garbage House and I’m mega excited. Even though you may not be able to tell from the picture, the bathroom in GB was arguably the worst room in the house. Sure it was visually unappealing as well, but what you can’t tell from the picture is that the bottom in the bathtub was nonexistent (completely caved in) and the toilet was left……full. The people squatting in the house lived there for who knows how long with the utilities shut off, because they obviously weren’t paying. Luckily, I never had to see (or smell) this part of the house before the toilet was ripped out. My dad sent me this picture via text after he went to look at it for the first time, and the previous owner came out and did some clean up before I ever went in (mainly pulling out the toilet).

22768

As I said before, you can’t really tell from the picture how bad the bathroom was, but it was the only room that was actually a complete gut job. You can see a little bit in the picture how uneven some of the back floor tiles are. A lot of the bathroom was actually sinking down since it’s a raised house. Also, a lot of rotten wood around the tub area had to be cut out. This room was actually what kept me from buying the house for so long because it had to be fixed before the bank would approve the loan. Since the seller is actually my dad’s good friend he let me make all the decisions (at least visually, I didn’t have anything to do with the construction) and my dad helped him with the work.

27461.jpeg

Of course, because the bathroom had to be done to close on the house it was also the first room that was actually done. All I had to do once I closed was fix up a couple paint spots, give the new vanity and tub a good scrub from all the work dust and dirt, and put the finishing decorative touches. *drum roll please*

bathroom entrance

I’m quite happy with how it turned out. I also have a sort of love/hate relationship with the paint colour I chose. I spent incredibly too much time picking a colour, with many back and forth trips to Home Depot and Lowes for weeks. For some reason, this was the one room in the house that I just couldn’t settle on. I was hooked on a blush pink or coral colour, but when I painted a swatch spot on the wall I absolutely hated it. The coral brought out all the red and pink tones in my skin and made my face look like a giant raspberry in front of the mirror, so I went back to my favourite…. purple. I do like how it looks, but it’s just one of those things that is ever so slightly off in my mind. Maybe I’m just too picky!

IMG_0119.JPG

This mirror is actually the original mirror that came in the bathroom. Score! You can only see a corner of it in the before pictures, but we basically just cut off the strange, wire-mesh pieces on the side and then painted the frame with some extra interior paint I had.
Also, the little hand painted quote was a gift from my Nana who bought it from a girl that was selling them to raise money for the National Eating Disorders Association after she beat anorexia (huzzah!).

IMG_0118

If you noticed the first drawer on the vanity doesn’t shut all way don’t worry, it’s bothering the crud out of me too. My dad is going to help me fix it when he gets back from vacation. For some reason, the shelf that came with the vanity is just a hair too long and needs to be trimmed down in the back so that the door can shut. Also, realistically I probably should have gotten the grey bath mat if I really wanted to match, but I couldn’t resist the bright mint one when I saw it in Target. Plus, it’s like the most plush bath mat I’ve ever had the pleasure of stepping on.

IMG_0124.JPG

I do plan on replacing the shower head with my old one as well because it was much nicer quality, but this is the basic one that came with the kit until I can get the old one back from my parent’s house. It’s currently in the bathroom that no one uses anymore because my parents have a master suite.

bathroom pin correct.jpg

 

Thanks for reading and following me on this crazy reno-journey. If your interested in any of the products I’ve used in this bathroom make-over I’ll link them below. Let me know what you think in the comments (like if you think I’m crazy about the paint colour)!

VanityShower Kit, Vanity Light, High Efficiency Dual Flush Toilet, Shower Curtain, Shower Curtain Rod, Bath Mat, Sink Faucet, Chandelier Light
*Only Amazon links are affiliate

chlxbee

2 thoughts on “Garbage House: Bathroom Reveal (before + after)

Add yours

  1. At the end of the day, it’s your first house. You’ll be living there for quite some time. All that matters if you enjoy the paint color 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

